Movie Review: The Bourne Legacy

Details from IMDB:

The Bourne Legacy Poster

The Bourne Legacy (2012)

PG_13 135 min  -  Action | Adventure | Mystery  -   10 August 2012 (Canada)

Ratings: 7.1/10 from 17,334 users   Metascore: 61/100
Reviews: 201 user | 180 critic | 42 from Metacritic.com

An expansion of the universe from Robert Ludlum’s novels, centered on a new hero whose stakes have been triggered by the events of the previous three films.

Director:

Tony Gilroy

Writers:

Tony Gilroy (screenplay), Dan Gilroy (screenplay), and 2 more credits »

Stars:

Jeremy Renner, Rachel Weisz and Edward Norton | See full cast and crew

Initial thoughts:

I’ve seen the other 3 Bourne movies and so even though I knew this one was not Jason Bourne (Matt Damon) centric, I decided to give it a try.Thinking smile

Main Points:

This time the man secret agent is Aaron Cross (played by Jeremy Renner) and fills in gaps and then continues the story from the previous films. Dr. Shearing (who quickly becomes central to the storyline) is played by Rachael Weisz and Edward Norton rounds out the cast playing Eric Byer.

While I’ll admit to not having read any of the books it seems rather obvious to me that the first 3 movies at least have some resemblance to the books (from what I could tell from looking on the internet) while the third one is completely different and in fact during the credits it says “inspired by the Bourne series”. While I hoped that this wouldn’t be the movies downfall unfortunately in many ways it was.Sad smile

I liked the beginning of the movie as Cross is on his own and trying desperately to survive. Once he teams up with Dr. Shearing, however, things take a wrong turn and I found myself getting a little bored at times.

Here’s an example of the problem and yes I guess that means…

SPOILER ALERT!

So Cross saves Dr. Shearing from being killed and immediately afterwards he grills her on what her plan is and convinces her that it’s best to stay with him. The annoying part is she says for about 5 minutes that she knows nothing and can’t help him get the pills he needs. Then all of a sudden she reveals that she can make his genetic enhancements permanent so he won’t need pills at all! You’d think something THIS important might come to mind right away after a guy saved your life. A poorly written spot and annoying.Annoyed

The other serious problem for me was just that the story wasn’t as good as the other two. All Cross and the doc do are run, get him off the pills and then run some more. There are a few clever spots but it also borrows heavily from the other 3 films (going over plot details and even reusing scenes). Obviously they are linking the two and passing the torch but I just found it so heavy handed.

Also while there is a good motorcycle/car chase at the end it is a very anti-climatic ending. There is a super-agent sent to kill Cross and instead of a big fight between them at the end Cross just proves to be a better driver and gets the other agent to ram his motorcycle into a pole. Cross does get away (and so does the Doctor) but by this point I really didn’t care.

Final Thoughts:

It’s a shame but they have ruined this movie series. I really enjoyed Jason Bourne and Matt’s portrayal of him, I can’t see myself watching any more of these movies with Renner. To be clear it’s not his fault, he does a good job with the character and the action scenes are quite good. He just didn’t have much story to work with. They should have stuck with Bourne’s story or ended it. Just 6/10 from me and I’d only recommend it if there’s nothing else playing at a local theatre you want to see. Ah well there’s another comic book movie coming in September (Dredd) and one of my favourite actor’s Clint Eastwood has a new movie coming soon as well. Until next time I am as always…Vampire bat

SignatureB&W_0003

TrackBack Identifier URI