Movie Review: The Amazing Spiderman

Details from IMDB:

The Amazing Spider-Man Poster

 

The Amazing Spider-Man (2012)

PG_13 136 min  –  Action | Fantasy | Thriller  –   3 July 2012 (Canada)

Ratings: 7.6/10 from 100,930 users   Metascore: 66/100
Reviews: 796 user | 413 critic | 42 from Metacritic.com

Peter Parker finds a clue that might help him understand why his parents disappeared when he was young. His path puts him on a collision course with Dr. Curt Connors, his father’s former partner.

Director:

Marc Webb

Writers:

James Vanderbilt (screenplay), Alvin Sargent (screenplay), and 4 more credits »

Stars:

Andrew Garfield, Emma Stone and Rhys Ifans | See full cast and crew

Initial Thoughts:

Obviously anyone who reads my blog knows I’m a huge geek and a big comic-book fan. I’ve always enjoyed Spiderman and though I had some misgivings about Andrew Garfield, Marc Webb and the whole reboot issue I did want to see it, so this past week I finally did. With that said I do quite like Emma Stone, so she also gave me another reason to see it. Smile

Main Points:

No plot summary but I will say this. Unfortunately I remember the first movie (with Tobey Maguire) so well that I have to say that going through spidey’s origin story again (and of course Uncle Ben’s death) was a little dull for me. I think it was at least a few years too soon to reboot this franchise. I also found Garfield’s Peter Parker a little annoying. He seemed twitchy and had a lot of pauses (at least in scenes with Emma Stone).

I thought the action scenes were top notch, there was some nice humor and the return to mechanical webshooters was a nice touch. However to return to the negative I thought the Lizard (while he looked great) was a rather stupid villain. Especially the Norman Osbournesque (Green Goblin) talking to himself bits, they were just dull. Also some of the dialogue was terrible, maybe that’s the way teenagers talk now but it annoyed the hell out of me. Annoyed

SPOILER ALERT!

I’m sure most people would know this but just in case, Gwen’s father (played well enough by Denis Leary) dies fighting Lizard man. Also there is a bonus scene into the credits a bit, as with all marvel movies it hints at part 2. I assume they are showing Peter’s Dad but it’s hard to tell. Also as usual watch for a Stan Lee cameo (which is funny and a nice change from his usual appearances).Open-mouthed smile

Final Thoughts:

Despite what I said above it did enjoy this movie. I just think it could have been a lot better. Oh I forgot to mention Garfield is 29 and Stone is 24, they both look a little old to be playing people in high school, I know I sound terribly nitpicky but this kind of thing just takes me out of the movie. So if you’re a spidey fan certainly give this a watch. He looks good and there are some good emotional scenes that did get a reaction out of me. A mild recommendation from me and a 7/10. Next will be my rather overdo review of “Ted” and then hopefully a book review. Hot smileUntil them I am as always…

SignatureB&W_0003

 

Leave a comment

No comments yet.

Comments RSS TrackBack Identifier URI

Leave a Reply

