Movie Review: The Dark Knight Rises

Details from IMDB:

The Dark Knight Rises Poster

The Dark Knight Rises (2012)

Certificate: PG 164 min   -   Action | Adventure | Drama | Thriller

Metascore: 78/100 (45 reviews)

Eight years on, a new terrorist leader, Bane, overwhelms Gotham’s finest, and the Dark Knight resurfaces to protect a city that has branded him an enemy.

Director:

Christopher Nolan

Stars:

Christian Bale, Tom Hardy, Anne Hathaway, Gary Oldman

Initial Thoughts:

First off I have to address the horrible tragedy of the Aurora shooting. I’m not much for anything political so I’ll just say my hearts goes out to the people and their families affected by it and I hope the perpetrator gets what he deserves.

Now as for the actual movie I had been looking forward to seeing it for months. As you may have know (especially if you read my book “The Newfoundland Vampire”) Batman is my favourite superhero and Christopher Nolan, IMHO, gets him like no other director I’ve ever seen before. Christian Bale has also done an excellent job as Batman/Bruce Wayne as well as all the other cast (sorry Tom Hardy you’re no Heath Ledger but you were good). I’m getting ahead of myself though so onto…

Main Points:

As usual no plot summary from me, plus there are some surprises that I won’t spoil (breaking with tradition I know, exciting! Smile). For a serious movie there are some light moments and I particularly enjoyed the first meeting of Selina Kyle (played quite well by Anne Hathaway) and the when he meets again with Lucius Fox (played with the usual excellence of Morgan Freeman) for the first time.

Commissioner Gordon is given plenty to do in this movie and Gary Oldman continues to portray him just as I always imagined he would act from the comics.

Despite all this glowing praise there were a few things I didn’t like. Batman is so devastated by the events from The Dark Knight that he becomes a recluse for 8 years? This seems rather out of character for him.

I also thought Batman is entirely too trusting of Catwoman and due to the previews revealing a little too much this brought us to Bruce’s journey to a physical/mental/spiritual triumph for him.

The action scenes are top notch and the inclusion of “The Bat” (Batman’s super-manoeuvrable plane) was a very cool thing. Bane is a significant challenge for Batman and Hardy does do quite a nice job with him.

Final Thoughts:

Ah another great summer to be a geek Vampire bat. With Avengers and this movie I would dare to say the best comic-book/geeky summer that I can remember (I haven’t seen Spider-Man yet either! Hot smile). The ending is very good and certainly fitting. It manages to both tie up a lot of lose ends and yet still leave plenty of room for more story (even if it is only in our imaginations). I am just sad Nolan sad this is his last time with Batman, I would certainly love it if he reconsidered. A very strong 8/10 from me. I would urge any Batman fan to see this ASAP. Until next time (and it will be another movie review! Open-mouthed smile) I am as always…

SignatureB&W_0003

 

 

6 Comments

  1. Sounds like a winner! Yes, it’s a great summer to be a geek. Haha.

    Pat

    • Hi Pat 🙂

      Yeah Batman was so damn good. Not quite Avengers quality but close, if I wasn’t so behind on movies (still haven’t seen Spidey!) I’d see it again 🙂

  2. Well, that thing about Batman being too trustworthy of Catwoman is true to the comics. However, she always came through when it was REALLY REALLY important… like, if she were going to die if she didn’t so something 🙂 It was one if his minor downfalls. He was in love with the woman. Great review!

  3. That should be “do” not “so.” Pfft. 🙂

  4. Hi Tasha 🙂 I’m glad you enjoyed my review. I’ll admit I haven’t read any Batman comics in a quite a while (probably 12 or 13 years). She is his weak spot certainly. Batman is a lonely character at least until he has Robin (who I never liked). No problem about the mistake 🙂 have a great weekend!

  5. Oh yeah thanks for the comment 🙂 always happy to get some feedback 🙂


Comments RSS TrackBack Identifier URI

Leave a Reply

