My first book launch :)

Hi all Smile,

Last Sunday (the 10th) a wonderful thing happened to me (well I made it happen but still! Winking smile) I had a launch for my first book “The Newfoundland Vampire” at The Ship Pub in downtown St. John’s, Newfoundland. It had been planned for over a month and I’ll admit I was nervous as the date approached but everything worked out.

IMG_2422

Hey you can’t have a party without a cake! Open-mouthed smile I invited over 80 people and about half that number showed up (which was fine, it was a Sunday night). Once my display was set up and the food put out I could go around saying hello to people and signing copies of my book.

006

As you can see the cake didn’t last long Vampire bat. Soon though I began to get gentle prods about when would the reading take place? So a little before 9 it began with a wonderful introduction by long-time (and excellent friend) Danny.

IMG_2430

He’s known me over 22 years so he was a great choice. Once he finished myself and another good friend (Lisa who played Cassandra/Jennifer for the reading) took the stage.

IMG_2431

004

It was a great example of art imitating life as the passage I choice took place in “the Anchor Pub” which was a thinly disguised version of the Ship Pub itself Hot smile. I had practiced this particular passage a good 30 times and while I still made a couple of tiny mistakes, overall it went very well (and Lisa did a great job!).

During the reading I heard laughter in the appropriate places and had not one but two rounds of applause. After taking a bow and thanking everyone I was ready for a few drinks Thumbs up.

Charles' Book Launch 1

Before I had time to bask in the wonderful feeling of being appreciated for a writing a book that I am immensely proud of and dearly love my Dad surprised most people (my wife suspected he would get up on stage) to give a very amusing and heartfelt speech about me, my book, my brother and surprises in life.

005

All and all it was an incredible night for me. It’s hard to put into words how great it feels to have a room full of people show up because they like you (hopefully! Winking smile) and want to hear you talk about fantasy characters and a story that has come to mean so much to me. I got to see family that I don’t see very often and friends that I don’t see often enough. The staff were great, everyone had a good time and I’ll most certainly have to write a sequel just so I can have another one of these! Smile Also I wanted to take this opportunity to thank Pat and all the great folks at Penumbra Publishing, without whom my book wouldn’t have been published and this great party never would have occurred, everything you did will always be appreciated.

011

For me the only night that equals it was my wedding night. I only plan on getting married once but Joseph, Cassandra and whoever else may show up, have plenty more to do and well certain make another appearance once the muses allow Smile. Keep dreaming all, I am as always…

SignatureB&W_0003

4 Comments

  1. Hey, great post, Charles. Congrats on your book party – a great way to launch your work. The cake looks absolutely fabulous, so glad your friends and family showed up to cheer you on. Great set of people, obviously they care a lot about you and had a good time. Way to go!

    Pat

    • Hi Pat 🙂 Thank you, it went great =) I would have liked some media to show up but that’s ok, hopefully for book 2. I never actually had any cake, it was my 3rd one that week and I needed a break. It did look fantastic though. I am lucky to have a lot of great freinds and family. Thanks for the RT on Twitter, I always appreicate the help. Have a great day! 🙂

  2. Sounds, wonderful, Charles! Congratulations!

    • Hi Kent 🙂 thanks for the comment and the well wishes =) It was a great night, how is evetything with you? Having a nice summer? 🙂


Comments RSS TrackBack Identifier URI

Leave a Reply

