Getting my book on a shelf, getting older and Geekfest

Hi everyone Smile 

Last day in May so I thought I’d do a Random Musings post. As I’ve mentioned on Twitter I’ve been very busy promoting my book and doing other life stuff (like being at work late 1 night every week for the past month) but I guess it’s the price you pay working for family.

I’m digressing already, enough work talk. This week I had a wonderful new experience, my book (The Newfoundland Vampire) was finally on the shelf in a store with other books! Vampire bat

003

As a good friend pointed out “your book is right next to a box set of George R. R. Martin, that’s pretty cool!.” Yeah I thought, it is pretty damn cool Hot smile. Also I was quick to reply on FB that I’m no Martin but even having my book among his (and others) was a great thrill and gave me a wonderful sense of belonging with these other writers, even if it’s just sharing some shelf space.

Of course I’ll take the time to point out now that if you’ve in NL (or will be visiting soon). I’ll be doing a book signing there (Costco on Stavanger Drive, St. John’s) next Friday (the 8th) from 2:30-4:30pm. If you come I promise not to bite, unless you really want me to Winking smile.

Also in May I had our yearly Geekfest. Here’s the mascot:

001

To explain Geekfest is when myself and a bunch of my friends (and yes 2 of them are women Open-mouthed smile) go to my parent’s summer home in Brigus (a smaller town about 45 minutes from my house) one weekend a year. Once there we play various role-playing games including Dungeons and Dragons (which this big red Dragon is from of course). This year our total playing time over 2 days was about 13 hours, so it is something of a marathon (and just about right for an OCD guy like me Thumbs up). Of course people drink, eat and take some time out to lie in the sun but generally we’re all there to celebrate our geeky nature.

002

Finally to close things out I wanted to briefly discuss the passage of time. Yeah I’m getting older, I’ll be 36 next week and while I feel good parts of it suck. I can’t drink (or eat junk food) like a used to, I got some grey hairs (and less of it overall) and time is slowly starting to show it’s mark on my face. I think like most people I just wonder if the best days are behind me, I dearly hope I’m wrong about that Smile. Mostly I just think about how incredible it is that literally time ticks our lives away. Days, months, years..they all seem to blend together the more time passes. I think of a lyric from a great Canadian band Rush (and the song “Time Stands Still”)

Summer’s going fast, nights growing colder
Children growing up, old friends growing older
Freeze this moment a little bit longer
Make each sensation a little bit stronger
Experience slips away
Experience slips away…
The innocence slips away

It’s a little sad I know but that’s what birthdays do to me. Ah well at least I’m not 40, that’s going to a rough one but tomorrow’s Friday and I’m off to bed. Until next I am, as always…

SignatureB&W_0003

3 Comments

  1. Aw gee, Charles, I feel for ya. Wait’ll you’re 60!

  2. Cool that your books are in the bookstore!

  3. Hi Pat 🙂 thanks for the comments. It was very cool =) I’m doing a signing there next Friday which I’m really looking forward to. 60! Let’s take this one decade at a time 🙂 Eventually I’ll be like the Beatles song “will you still need, will you still feed me, when I’m 64?” 😉 Have a great weekend


Comments RSS TrackBack Identifier URI

Leave a Reply

