Giveaway 2: The Horror!, the horror!

Hi all Open-mouthed smile

I know I’ve been so quiet, just busy is all. Here’s something fun to do (along with free stuff, who doesn’t like that?) Smile

Time for contest number 2! This one will be simpler, here’s the details:

What was your first vampire/horror/romance book that you enjoyed? Share it with me by either leaving a comment below or e-mailing me at TheNLVampire@gmail.com  Vampire bat

The contest starts now and will stop June 26th. I will then do a random draw for 2 e-copies of my book “The Newfoundland Vampire” (format of your choice) and send it to them, how easy is that? Hot smile

NewfoundlandVampire-coverFRONT

I’ll start: (even though I can’t win) Winking smile I remember reading a collection of Edgar Allan Poe’s short stories when I was about 11. They were excellent but for me "The Tell Tale Heart" stood out as particularly brilliant. Poe was a master and was pretty intense for the 19th century.

That’s it! Best of luck to you all Thumbs up. Until next time I am as always…

SignatureB&W_0003

6 Comments

  1. I read “Dracula” by Bram Stoker at a particularly young age. At the time, though, I looked at it as more of an adventure book with the vampire as the villain. I don’t think I’ve ever been “scared” by a book, no matter who wrote it. Movies, yes. Books, no.

    • “Dracula” is a classic book that I enjoyed a great deal (though the language is obviously a lot different from how we speak today). I was in university when I read it. I don’t think it was the gory in Poe that bothered me, just some of the ideas. In Tell Tale Heart for example the main character thinks and thinks about killing the old man, it was a shock to me (I guess I lead a sheltered life 😉 when he actually did it. Anyway thanks for your comment, you’re entered in the draw! =)

  2. I got hooked on the darker side of entertainment from watching the X-Files while growing up. From aliens to alligators they’ve covered it all.

    • X-Files was a great show (well until season 8 anyway, after that..). The last movie was terrible though, they are supposed to do one more to finish things off well, I hope that happens. As a side note if you like adult comedies DD is HILARIOUS in “Californication” 🙂

  3. When it came to Vampires, all things started with Anne Rice. I worshiped her books and, as much as I wasn’t a huge fan of the movie as I loathe Brad Pitt and Tom Cruise, her books remain untained in my mind. They are still my sweet escape into a dark and creepy world that leaves me covered with goosebumps!

    • Hi Lillian 🙂 thanks for your comment. I thought the first 4 books were excellent by Armand..well I thought things went pretty far downhill. I eventually read Myrick but I don’t know if I’ll ever finish the series. Rice does a great job getting into the mindset of her vampire characters. It’s just what she does with the character that really got to me. They are dark and creepy though for sure =) You’re entered in the draw! thanks again, talk to you soon 🙂


Comments RSS TrackBack Identifier URI

Leave a Reply

