Movie Review: The Avengers

Details from IMDB:

The Avengers Poster

The Avengers (2012)

PG_13 143 min  -  Action | Adventure | Sci-Fi  -   4 May 2012 (Canada)

8.7

Ratings: 8.7/10 from 196,049 users   Metascore: 69/100
Reviews: 917 user | 445 critic | 43 from Metacritic.com

Nick Fury of S.H.I.E.L.D. brings together a team of super humans to form The Avengers to help save the Earth from Loki and his army.

Director:

Joss Whedon

Writers:

Joss Whedon (screenplay), Zak Penn (story), and 3 more credits »

Stars:

Robert Downey Jr., Chris Evans and Scarlett Johansson | See full cast and crew

Initial Thoughts:

Like everyone else I had this movie way built up in my mind, I had been looking forward to it for months and for the first time in years, I wasn’t let down Smile.

Even before you watch it, there is so much goodness in here! Joss Whedon, Sam Jackson, Robert Downey Jr., Scar Jo, Chris Evans, Jeremy Renner and of course all the marvel super-heroes I’ve been watching in movies for the last 5 years (and a couple who deserve movies of their own! Open-mouthed smile). I just want to say before I get to my thoughts that Marvel/Disney are marketing geniuses. To have all the movies have little previews of this and then have all the same actors (minus Edward Norton of course) in it was a stroke of brilliance. Warner Brothers and DC take note, you’re getting your ass kicked, this is how you do it!

Main Points:

Well as usual I’m not doing the whole plot, it’s excellent and for almost 2.5 hours doesn’t drag at all Smile. Instead I’ll just mention some of my favourite parts/characters/performances. First off Robert Downey Jr., he IS Iron Man, he has the part down so perfectly I can’t even imagine anyone else doing it. He is number 1 for this movie. A close second is Mark Ruffalo who does an amazing hulk.

This is by far the best Hulk I have ever seen in a movie. He is funny and super-entertaining as Hulk and still manages to be quiet and sensitive as Banner. He doesn’t say “hulk smash” but smash he does! Hulk gets to pound the hell out of Loki and sucker punch Thor which are two of the best parts in the movie for me Hot smile.

Joss does an amazing job as director and proves once again that a comic book movie directed by a huge fan is most certainly the way to go. I also thought Black Widow and Hawkeye (let’s face it two very minor characters) get to due plenty in this movie and were quite enjoyable to watch (what straight guy doesn’t love Scar Jo? Winking smile).

Sam Jackson get’s to do more with Nick Fury and Tom Hiddleston does a good job as Loki Vampire bat and the aliens do look very creepy.

Of course I have to mention that I love the fight between Cap, Thor and Iron Man. Just because they are Avengers doesn’t mean they always get along, this scene was so much fun! I suppose the rest is…

SPOILER ALERT!

Agent Phil dies in the movie and it’s a shame because he was funny and really gets to do more here. I can’t say it was a mistake, just that I’ll miss him which I guess is a good thing for a movie to do.

While I don’t see how anyone can’t know this, of course the Avengers beat back the alien invasion and Iron Man doesn’t die (or get stuck somewhere millions of miles away in space). Hulk yelling to wake him up (and jumping up to save him) were also great parts near the end.

The very end gives us not one, but 2 bonus scenes! One is the teaser for Avengers 2 (that’s Thanos looking back, he’s a bad guy, you’ll have to look him up Smile) and the final scene of them all just hanging out at a restaurant was amusing and a nice little surprise.

Final Thoughts:

I wanted to give this movie 9/10 but I couldn’t, so instead I give it a strong 8/10 and a big recommendation to anyone (comic book fan or not) Thumbs up. The Hulk for all his greatness has a few glaring mistakes. As other people have pointed out for the big fight he seems to be mostly in control, but when he first hulks out Black Widow is scared and he seems to have no control, huh? This is never explained, hopefully in the new Hulk movie it will be.

Also he calls the Hulk “the other guy” which seemed odd and the dialogue awkward. Overall though those are very minor complaints and I loved this movie, it may not be the best comic book movie ever but is certainly Marvel’s. Keep up the great work Joss, can’t wait for part 2! Smile Until next time I am, as always…

SignatureB&W_0003

Leave a comment

No comments yet.

Comments RSS TrackBack Identifier URI

Leave a Reply

