Movie Review: Safe House

Details from IMDB:

Safe House (2012)

R  115 min  -  Action | Crime | Mystery   -  10 February 2012 (Canada)

Ratings: 7.1/10 from 938 users   Metascore: 53/100
Reviews: 17 user | 7 critic | 31 from Metacritic.com

A young CIA agent is tasked with looking after a fugitive in a safe house. But when the safe house is attacked, he finds himself on the run with his charge.

Initial Thoughts:

Like Angel said “Who doesn’t love Denzel?” While he may have done a couple of bad movies (not that I’ve seen them) I agree with Angel, I love Denzel. I will see a movie just because he’s in it. With all that said I also like Ryan Reynolds and I had heard good things about this movie, so we went Smile.

Mains Points:

So the movie is about a bored C.I.A. operative named Westeon (played by Reynolds) who suddenly gets the excitement he’s been looking for when Tobin Frost (played the great Denzel) is brought to his safe house.

As usual Denzel does a great job. At 58 Denzel still kicks ass and this movie has plenty of great action scenes. Reynolds is also in fine form and the movie is an action/suspense thrill ride from about 20 minutes in.Open-mouthed smile

SPOILER ALERT!

As usual I’m not doing the whole plot of the movie. Basically you are led to believe the Frost is a rogue C.I.A. agent who knows sells information to anyone at the highest bid. While he may have done that in the past for this film he wants to expose corruption in the C.I.A./MI6 and other government organizations.

Reynolds discovers that the C.I.A. is indeed out to kill  Frost to destroy the secrets he knows and will kill him also if needed.  While I didn’t see the C.I.A. twist right away I did figure out fairly early own who in particular is working against Weston but that didn’t deter much from my enjoyment of the film.

Weston is a young agent who is hungry for action and promotion with the C.I.A. but when he sees that Frost is right about the corruption he temporarily teams up with him so he can learn the truth about this high level corruption.Vampire bat

The action scenes are plentiful and very well done. I was on the edge of the my seat for much of the film. My only complaint is that it was a little predictable and that it did slow down significantly around the 2 hour mark.

Final Thoughts:

Denzel continues to impress with an interesting character, great action and makes it look like he could kick your ass without breaking a sweat Winking smile Ryan Reynolds continues to improve and impress and shows here why he was easily the best part of Green Lantern.

The beginning action scenes where Frost make his getaway along with some of the up close and personal fights Denzel and Reynolds characters’ have are top-notch, gritty and riveting. I liked this movie a fair bit and would recommend. An 8/10 from me for a movie much better than a lot of other stuff out currently. You know you love Denzel, so give it a watch. Thumbs up

SignatureB&W_0003

Leave a comment

No comments yet.

Comments RSS TrackBack Identifier URI

Leave a Reply

