Best Superhero Flick of 2011 guest post by Natasha Larry

Best Superhero Flick of 2011:

Captain America

Well, of course it was good ol’ Steve Rogers. He was, after all, the first Avenger.

2011 was a hot year for superhero movies. While Green Lantern was an epic fail: X-Men First Class was well done, unless of course, you were expecting a movie about the original X-Men. Not that anyone expects anything from the X-Men franchise anymore.

2011 also saw the release of Thor, which was nearly the best superhero flick of the year. Sure, Chris Hemsworth was puny, but he nailed the role. Still, in my humble, fan-boy opinion, Cap still came out on top, and was perhaps one of the best made superhero movies produced since Superman 2 in 1980.

I knew that the tasty Chris Evans would nail the role. After all, Captain America is one of the most one-dimensional superheroes to kick ass in the Marvel Universe. What you see with Steve is what you get: and all he wanted to do was help people.

Overall, the movie stayed very close to the comic books, was well cast and smartly paced.  While The Dark Knight is still my personal favourite superhero movie, Christian Bale only nailed one aspect of the Batman. All in all, Captain America is my pick for 2011 because a character hasn’t been cast that well since Christopher Reeve’s Superman, and I can’t wait for The Avengers to come out in 2012.

Natasha Larry was born and is still alive. She has an M.A. in American History, making her a professional cynic. Apart from writing, she is a self-proclaimed comic book nerd and urban fantasy junkie. You can find more into on Darwin’s Children and Unnatural Law here and purchase them from Penumbra Publishing.

2 Comments

  1. I don’t know why but I didn’t really like Thor all that much. But I think it had more to do with Natalie Portman, who I love as an actress, but didn’t really do anything for me in that particular role. 🙂 As for me, I think the Dark Knight was the best superhero movie in the last 5 years. Just my opinion. But since we’re sticking to 2011, I’d have to agree with Captain America.

    Love ya Larry!

  2. I’m really picky with Batman flicks, lol. But, The Dark Knight was Amazing. I saw it in IMAX twice, lol. Natalie Portman didn’t bug me as much as she usually does in Cap, and after I saw here in Star Wars I was certain I’d never be able to watch her again without cringing. Of course, her performance in V for Vendetta should probably cancel all bad roles out. =)


Comments RSS TrackBack Identifier URI

Leave a Reply

