Movie Review: Mission: Impossible–Ghost Protocol

Details from IMDB:

Mission: Impossible – Ghost Protocol (2011)

PG_13  133 min  -  Action | Adventure | Thriller   -  21 December 2011 (Canada)

Ratings: 7.9/10 from 24,510 users   Metascore: 74/100
Reviews: 189 user | 179 critic | 36 from Metacritic.com

The IMF is shut down when it’s implicated in the bombing of the Kremlin, causing Ethan Hunt and his new team to go rogue to clear their organization’s name.

Initial Thoughts:

I’ve seen all of the MI movies, in the theatres. So naturally when this one came out I was bound to go see it and this time in Imax Smile.

Main Points:

First off I have to talk about Imax. I have seen Imax movies before but only of the documentary sort. This was the first big-budget, big-star action movie I’ve seen in this format and I wasn’t disappointed.

We arrived in the theatre just as the preview were starting. There weren’t many seats left so we ended up in two very close to screen. I thought “Oh great another movie with a sore neck afterwards” but to my delightful surprise these comfy seats allowed you to lean back to get a better view of the large, fairly close screen. Don’t get me wrong it is expensive ($16.5 each for a weekday matinee) but for the right movie I can see the benefit of paying for the premium experience.Vampire bat

So we return to the world of Ethan Hunk (played by Tom Cruise of course) and the always hilarious Simon Pegg (who once again plays Benji). I started off with the pleasant surprise of Josh Holloway (of Lost fame) who takes a small but well-acted role. Then some great comedic/action scenes with Ethan and Benji really got the movie going.

Things are bad, the Russians are ready to start World War III and the IMF has been dissolved but don’t worry, Ethan and the gang can handle it Open-mouthed smile. Obviously I’m glossing over the plot, it’s not really that important here. It works as much as it needs to in order to set up the next action scene or create more tension.

With the Imax experience I must admit the action scenes had more of a punch (I actually felt dizzy when the camera pans down off a building) and found myself excited for a great deal of the film. Cruise can still pull off the stunts and looks to be in great shape. Jeremy Renner also makes a strong appearance here and easily keeps up with Cruise in both action and dramatic scenes.

SPOILER ALERT!

The IMF Secretary is killed and Ethan’s wife is surprisingly not dead, I didn’t care much about either of these events. Also World War III doesn’t start, and there is plenty of room left for MI5 (while I sped over these details they are exciting parts in the film.)

Final Thoughts:

The movie kept me on the edge of my seat two of the main female characters were easy on the eyes. That’s all this movie needs and aside from an ending that was a little tacked on and unnecessary I thoroughly enjoyed it. 8/10 from me.Thumbs up If you love your action movies and don’t mind spending a little extra dough I’d even recommend Imax, it’s a good way to spend some of that movie money you probably got for Christmas anyway Winking smile.

SignatureB&W_0003

2 Comments

  1. A great film IMO, would probably give it the same exact rating. Highly entertaining with great performances from Cruise and Renner, couldn’t have asked for more!

    Nice work!

    • Thanks! 🙂 I glossed over the plot a lot but for an action movie it’s usually not the most important thing. I agree Renner is an excellent actor, I enjoy him in any movie he does. I thought this was the best Mission Impossible since the first one. It’s nice to see a sequel that doesn’t suck as many of them do 🙂


Comments RSS TrackBack Identifier URI

Leave a Reply

