Movie Review: Scrooged

Details from IMDB:

Scrooged (1988)

PG_13  101 min  -  Comedy | Drama | Fantasy   -  23 November 1988 (USA)

Ratings: 6.8/10 from 27,773 users   Metascore: 38/100
Reviews: 123 user | 53 critic | 14 from Metacritic.com

A cynically selfish TV executive gets haunted by three spirits bearing lessons on Christmas Eve.

Initial Thoughts:

This is a movie I’ve seen before (many times in fact Smile) just doing a review as it’s Christmas Day and an appropriate time. Obviously I like this movie so I have a preconceived notion but everyone knows by now I’m hard on movies regardless.

Main Points:

This is a modern re-telling of “A Christmas Carol” with a twist. “Scrooge” this time, Frank Cross played by Bill Murray, is the head of a major TV station and aside from being an asshole/Grinch for most of the movie is also putting on a live production of “A Christmas Carol” on Christmas Eve.

This is one of the movies I tend to watch at least every few years at Christmas time. I’ll freely admit that the effects fall apart in some places and Murray is a little too over-the-top/irritating in parts but it is a fun movie that still makes me laugh.

What gets me are the unexpected parts in the movie. Like when a TV sensor shows up on the set of “A Christmas Carol” and says:

Frank Cross: I want to see her nipples.
Censor Lady: But this is a CHRISTMAS show.
Frank Cross: Well, I’m sure Charles Dickens would have wanted to see her nipples.
Carpenter: You can barely see them nipples.
Frank Cross: See? And these guys are REALLY looking.

There is another funny scene with the ghost of Christmas future where he doesn’t believe it’s real (as he saw a guy in a costume earlier). There are bits with the revised promo for the live “Christmas Carol” I also enjoyed and the fact that Frank loves the fact that an old woman died watching the commercial Laughing out loud.

SPOILER ALERT!

If you haven’t read “A Christmas Carol” or ever seen a movie adaptation of it, well you’re missing out. So I won’t bother to tell you how it ends, you know what’s coming but it’s still fun to watch. The fact that Annie Lennox and Al Green did a great version of “Put a little love in your heart” also ups my enjoyment of the film. Open-mouthed smile

Final Thoughts:

With all that said there’s only so much you can do adapting “A Christmas Carol”. It’s the kind of movie that’s more fun to tell people about than watch (I find that happens a lot Vampire bat). So I give it 7/10 but if you like Murray, “A Christmas Carol” or just Christmas movies in general I would still highly recommend it.Thumbs up

SignatureB&W_0003

Leave a comment

No comments yet.

Comments RSS TrackBack Identifier URI

Leave a Reply

