Movie Review: Horrible Bosses

Details from IMDB:

Horrible Bosses (2011)

R  98 min  -  Comedy | Crime   -  8 July 2011 (Canada)

Ratings: 7.1/10 from 65,564 users   Metascore: 57/100
Reviews: 237 user | 239 critic | 40 from Metacritic.com

Three friends conspire to murder their awful bosses when they realize they are standing in the way of their happiness.

Initial Thoughts:

This movie has a lot of good actors. I really enjoy Jason Bateman, Kevin Spacey, Jennifer Aniston and even Colin Farrell lately. So I thought this looked like a funny movie and for the most part I was right Smile.

Main Points:

This was a nice, simple idea for a movie. 3 guys hate their bosses and want to kill them. Things start off lively and we get to see just why each boss is so horrible. Kevin Spacey’s character, Dave, is a nasty piece of work. With that said Spacey has such fun play him (and the character is funny despite being a “total fucking asshole”) that you can’t help but laugh. The part in particular where he laughs at Bateman’s character, Nick, because he called his grandmother Gam-Gam still makes me laugh, it’s my kind of twisted humour Open-mouthed smile.

Jennifer Aniston looks great in this movie (though I prefer her hair lighter) and though many guys wouldn’t mind the sort of attention she gives Dale, he is engaged and doesn’t want to cheat, so I can see how it for him she is hard to deal with (no pun intended). Vampire bat

Finally Kurt’s boss, Bobby (played fairly well by Colin Farrell) is also a complete jerk and while I think killing him is very extreme since this is just a movie I’ll go along. There are some good funny parts with a “wetworks” guy (you’ll have to see it to get it) and Jamie Foxx’s character. Once they get down to actually trying to killing them, however, it becomes a very standard comedy that was fairly easy to predict.

SPOILER ALERT!

So the only twist is that Dave, conveniently kills Bobby and now they are left with only 2 bosses to kill. Of course they can’t do it and ultimately Dave is the usual over-confident killer who brags about killing the guys and is caught on tape. The only guy who does anything surprising is Dale who catches his boss on video harassing him and forces her to stop through blackmail.

Final thoughts:

If you’re a fan of any of these guys (or Jennifer) this is worth a rental (or Netflix or Amazon, among other ways). It’s not ground-breaking but is worth a few laughs and has a great beginning and ok ending. 7/10 from me.

SignatureB&W_0003

2 Comments

  1. Good review! I agree – wasnt groundbreaking as you said but it definitely made me giggle here and there because I know how it feels to have a boss thats just horrible!! 😛

  2. Hi there! 🙂 thanks for the compliment, I try to write a review that I think others will enjoy reading. I had a horrible boss once myself so yes it is an easy concept for most of us to relate to. I post all the time at twitter if you’d like to follow me, just go to the button on the right 🙂

    When I think about it this movie has a bunch of funny parts, it really deserves a 7.5, it’s funnier when you tell people about it then when you see it yourself. Anyway thanks for the comment, talk to you soon.

    Charles


Comments RSS TrackBack Identifier URI

Leave a Reply

