Movies that had an impact on you

Happy Thursday all. I’ll admit I read Levar Burton tweets and he did that, I liked it and I started doing it (follow him on twitter, if you have any interest). To get back to the point though, movies. I love movies, during summer months we often to go 2 a month and even in the winter in 1 every month or 2. I’ll get into my feelings on 3-D another time.

Today I thought about when was the last time you saw a movie that caused a strong reaction in you? One you really thought about afterwards? Finding out for me was easy, I try to always but my ratings in the IMDB (once of my favourite websites) and then when you want to look back you can. I noticed that the last time I gave a movie a 9/10 was in 2007 when I watched Unforgiven again. Holy crap what a great movie. One of Clint’s absolute best and the scene when he comes back into town to avenge the death of this friend, it’s amazing. Even the sound of the storm outside gets to you. Though the movie has some great action and dramatic themes it’s the overall plot that really gets you thinking though. Clint’s character, Bill Munny, was basically known as scum. He admits it in the above scene “I’ve killed women and children. I’ve killed just about everything that walks or crawled at one time or another. And I’m here to kill you, Little Bill, for what you did to Ned.” What I’m getting is that even a man many people would consider evil cared about his friends, loved his departed wife, loved his children and believed that the last job he took in this movie was the right thing to do. It makes you think about morality, we are judged by the law and society but why are they always right? Of course I have no real answers to any of these questions my only conclusion is that people generally can’t be all good or bad, everyone is some shade of grey and that if you haven’t seen this movie, you’re really missing out Smile

I’ll talk about some other movies I really love and how some define a generation but right now I’ve got some TV to watch.

Leave a comment

No comments yet.

Comments RSS TrackBack Identifier URI

Leave a Reply

